2022 Avalon election update: the candidates

File art

Sales tax and transient occupancy tax increases also on ballot

Anni Marshall and Cinde MacGugan-Cassidy will compete for the Avalon mayor’s office in the June 7 election.

Candidates are listed here in the order in which their names will appear on the ballot, according to City Clerk Denise Radde.

The winner will serve two years.

Candidates Mary Schickling, Oley Olsen, Michael Ponce, Carl Johnson and will seek the two City Council seats.

The two winners will serve four-year-terms.

Ballot measures

Also on the ballot will be a proposed sales tax increase and a transient occupancy (short term rental) tax increase

• According to a February staff report to the council, the city is proposing a 1/4-of-a-percent transaction and use (sales) tax.

• The ballot measure would increase the TOT by 1%. This would bring the total TOT to 13%.

According to the February staff report, the money would be earmarked for the city’s General Fund for a decade.

As previously reported, the election will cost Avalon $17,000. The city budgeted $25,000 for the election.

Los Angeles County will provide the election services.